An experiment in interactive posting…

peace hands

Okay, people, listen up.  This one is an * INTERACTIVE POST *  so look alive out there.  WordPress keeps posing these cool questions for the Post-a-Week challenge.  My email inbox has been flooded with all sorts of writing topics that are taking me on more mental tangents than I’m usually allowed.  (To paraphrase a good friend of mine:  “I do not have attention deficit disor– hey look!!  Another blog about art!”)

In order to keep myself focused at work, being the clever little problem-solver I am, I am turning this post over to YOU.  I’ll answer the question first.  Then you all answer in the comments.  If you’re too shy to comment yourself, no worries.  Just email me at autismhomerescue@gmail.com and I’ll add your answer anonymously. 

Are you all ready??  REALLY?  Okay then.  LET’S GO! 

What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?   And how do you plan to top it in 2011?

The single most important thing I accomplished in 2010 was definitely learning to stay in the moment, especially with my kids.  As far as topping that, I don’t think I could.  But I would like to run my first 5K race in 2011.  Does that count?

Your turn.  🙂

rosie the riveter

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. textisle
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:23:09

    I completed an art quilt, Geode, I had started in 2003, involving hours of hand beading. It was shown at one of the exhibitions at the Canadian National Quilt Show in Calgary and I got to meet other quilt artists and had a very encouraging message from the author of the fantasy novel that inspired it.

    My plans for 2011 don’t include one giant piece like this one, but I plan to be more consistently productive in my quilting and art endeavours, and more diligent in promoting myself through networking.

    Reply

    • cathykal
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:03:55

      Wow! That is awesome! I do a tiny bit of quilting too and it is such a wonderful art form– taking bits and pieces from here and there and creating something beautiful. I love it 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Looking backwards and forwards « Text/Isle
  3. Lisa
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:56:03

    I learned to let go….that autism is here to stay and that we need to learn to get along. I’ve had all these pent up emotions about losing out on stuff and that’s not whats really important.

    This year I want to use my voice to shout frm the rooftops about autism. I want awareness on such levels that I start to annoy people. And I want to stop letting my School District get the better of me. I know my rights and my sons rights now its time to put it all into action.

    Reply

  4. Lynn
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 20:19:18

    I started my blog! Ok, lame compared to all of my daughter’s accomplishments, but still…

    This year I would like to get published…and rich and famous and set up a special needs trust fund for my daughter. I can dream…

    Reply

    • cathykal
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 22:58:53

      Totally *not* lame, Lynn. You rock! And I think everyone should read your stuff. Dream and keep dreaming, that’s the stuff that really matters 🙂

      Reply

  5. Tracy Cruze
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:53:28

    I nearly died and received 7 units of blood. I’m going to LIVE this year, not just survive.

    Reply

  6. bbsmum
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 03:13:22

    In 2010 I finished 6 years of part-time studying and finally got my university degree (ha ha! 30 years too late! The polite term is ‘mature student’) This year I’ll look for something else to learn. It’s never too late.

    Reply

  7. Jessica Palmer
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 06:41:13

    I took control of my career for the first time in ten years, and started a new job in a company where I’ve been for 3 years, where I genuinely like the people and culture. Focusing on myself instead of my “situation” (autism mom) is my biggest accomplishment!

    Reply

    • cathykal
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:30:51

      That is indeed a big accomplishment– thanks for putting a smile on my face this morning, Jess! I think I’m gonna add focusing on me, not the “situation” to my 2011 list, too. 🙂

      Reply

  8. Rhiannon Fieri
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:47:51

    2010 was a big year in many ways….it’s not so much that life got a lot closer to where it aught to be, but that many elements got on track. We finally managed to get formal diagnosis for Ash, and started receiving Disability payments for him — a small but substantial building block for a foundation to help raise us out of the quicksand of medical debt. I got him set up with the special education system, and got him placement in the best of the local programs. He’s made the biggest strides of his life, in terms of his eating therapy, despite some of his biggest related regressions occurring along the way. He’s been mostly potty trained. He’s….well, he’s done a lot of awesome stuff. I even finally got the blog started, as a new way — eventually, maybe a way that brings in a little extra to pay for what he needs — to chronicle it all.

    2010 was a Mommy Warrior year. How do I plan to top it? Probably by trying to do the same thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

