Today’s Gratitude List

mom hannah baby

Today I am grateful for:

  • The fact that I am writing again.  Even though I’ve got a single-track mind which always seems to drift back to my mother.
  • Family lineage.  The picture above is of my mother and Hannah the day she was born.  Can you see the resemblance?  Can you see the determination & patience & persistence they share?  Can you see the beginnings of the fine-tuned sense of humor in my daughter?  The laughter & pride in my mother’s eyes?  Good lord, I am *so* grateful for all of that.  All that I know of being a mother, my mother taught me through the way she lived her life.  All that Hannah will know of how to grow into a woman began with a seed of inspiration going back through generations of women in my family.  Grateful, grateful, grateful for that lineage & all the strong women who came before us.

 

What are you grateful for today?  Write it down & share it!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Big Daddy
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 12:32:38

    I am grateful that I got to take both my kids to school today and spend an hour alone with each of them this morning.

    Reply

  2. Amy Mendelsohn
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 14:39:51

    beautiful thoughts, Cat. your little girl has a lot going for her.

    Reply

  3. Lynn
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 23:41:35

    I’m so sorry to hear about your mother. I lost my father to cancer in August, and my uncle is stage 4 right now. You’re right…cancer sucks. Hugs to you.

    Reply

    • cathykal
      Mar 26, 2011 @ 07:33:00

      Aw Lynn, I’m so sorry. Yes, it sucks, it’s the only way to describe it. I’m keeping you & your family in my thoughts & prayers. Have you heard of Gilda’s Club? http://www.gildasclub.org Gilda Radner, very funny lady (like you!). Cancer, not so funny. But put together they equal a pretty amazing support community. Hugs right back at ya!

      Reply

  4. Sue
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 04:30:37

    Cathy,
    I agree cancer really sucks. I just learned on Thursday that my brother’s prostate cancer has advanced. It is now rapidly growing. They have been just watching it for the past year. I am praying they are able to remove all of it, but the surgery is not even scheduled yet.

    I am grateful for my loving family.

    Reply

    • cathykal
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 10:40:11

      Sue, I’m so sorry to hear about your brother’s cancer. I do hope they get all of it and my thoughts & prayers are with you & your family. Hang in there!

      Reply

  5. denise
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 22:50:46

    I am thankful for time to myself, Choices and Hope. Hope when I look around and see other people floating on the same raft as me and my family. Oh and for connection with people and resources to remind me I am happy and free. “May the long time sun shine upon you. Love surround you. And, the pure light within you, guide your way on….”

    Reply

  6. denise
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 22:51:44

    Cat,
    Thanks for always reminding me.
    love and light be with you

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Happy Birthday Hannah Rose! « Autism Home Rescue

Leave a Reply

