Funny things. Please.

I often write when I feel sentimental.  I write tributes to people who have touched my life, I write gratitude lists.  Sometimes I write funny things, silly things, cute things that make people go “awwwww…” with a little head tilt.  Rarely do I write when I am supremely pissed off.  But today is one of those days.  Lucky you.  Read on.

gecko huhI love to laugh.  When I am laughing so hard my cheekbones feel stuck in a smile, my stomach hurts and I’m having trouble breathing, well that is just *the* BEST.  People put funny “posters” on facebook, they share cartoons & crazy out-of-context quotes.  There are tons of funny things out there.  And if you do an image search (try goodsearch before those other search engines– money gets raised for good causes) you can surely find enough pictures to crack you up for a good hour or two.

Today I did an image search for “autism funny” and you know what?  It made me angry.  Apparently, the people who think they have a sense of humor when it comes to autism like to post pictures of kids who look like mine with terms like “a$$hole” in the caption.  Or “joke” quotes degrading or humiliating people with autism and their families.

Or maybe it’s the search engines who just don’t freaking get it.  When I type “autism funny” I want Big Daddy’s cartoons or Autism Army Mom’s photos.  I want stuff that is fun, that we all can laugh at, that’s not insensitive, intolerant junk.  Is that too much to ask??

Sheesh :S  … and Grrrrrr…. and all that.

Soooooo…. Here’s what I’m asking for today:

Send me something that is “autism funny” to you.  Find me things that celebrate kids like mine, that will make me smile or belly laugh, that are *specifically* under the category “autism funny.”  Because let’s face it… if we can’t laugh through this strange world we’re all navigating… then what’s it really about?

Okay, enough reading my rant.  Go search, find & report back.  Post in comments or email please (autismhomerescue@gmail.com).

gecko huh

… What are you still doing here?  Go find stuff– go now!

Oh yeah… and wishing you all a Happy New Year with plenty of things to smile about!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mamafog
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 19:42:54

    I think this video is funny

    Reply

  2. cathykal
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 20:47:24

    from my awesome sister-in-law: http://www.thefunnysideofautism.com

    Reply

  3. susan
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 09:23:42

    I have a lot of autism funny!!!!!
    Ill send u dome stuff!!
    HNY

    Reply

  4. Talbot Logan
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 13:49:21

    Check of The Funny Side of Autism. Its a page/group/whatever they are called these days of Facebook. Not being in your position its hard for me to judge if you will think they are funny–but worth a shot

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Today’s Gratitude List « Autism Home Rescue

Leave a Reply

