The word behind the words: MOTORCYCLE

Me:  “Yo, dude.  What do you want to do today?”

Alex:  “Motorcycle.”  (tilts chair back, sits in relaxed too-cool-kid pose, looks at me with mock serious slightly emo expression)

Me:  “Motorcycle?  You wanna ride a motorcycle?”

Alex:  “Yes.”  (slight smile forming, but still staring me down trying to get across the seriousness of his request, seeing if I’ll take the bait.)

Me:  “Dude *you* have to have a driver’s license first to drive a motorcycle.”

Alex:  (smiling, walks up to me, clears his expression & gets serious again– looking me right in the eye, almost nose to nose)  “Mom.”

Me:  “Yes?”

Alex:  “Bring motorcycle.”

Me:  “Dude, I don’t have a motorcycle.”  (thinks a minute)  “But Aubrey actually has one…”

Alex:  “Mom.  Bring Aubrey’s motorcycle to drive for Alex.”

The WORD behind the words:

Me:  “Yo, dude.  What do you want to do today?”

Alex:  “Motorcycle.” 

translation:  “I wanna go out, I wanna *move* and go fast.  I know Mom would be with me on this one, I just have to get her attention.”

Me:  “Motorcycle?  You wanna ride a motorcycle?”

Alex:  “Yes.” 

translation:  “You know I’m really gonna try for this, don’t you?  I know it sounds extreme, but trust me, Mom, this is gonna rock!”

Me:  “Dude *you* have to have a driver’s license first to drive a motorcycle.”

Alex:  “Mom.”

translation:  “Do you see how serious I am?”

Me:  “Yes?”

Alex:  “Bring motorcycle.”

translation:  “Mom, seriously.  I know you can get us transportation.  I’m counting on you.”

Me:  “Dude, I don’t have a motorcycle… But Aubrey actually has one…”

Alex:  “Mom.  Bring Aubrey’s motorcycle to drive for Alex.”

translation:  “Aha!  Now we’re talking!  Bring it over, let’s make a break for it.  I am so down with that.”

 

Do you have the “WORD behind the words” for a kid you love? 

Please do comment & share!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Sisters + Happiness = Hannahappiness? « Autism Home Rescue
  2. culum
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 16:37:14

    Good posting motorcycle ..(^_^) ..!!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Dude, where are my preconceived notions? No, seriously, dude… « Autism Home Rescue
  4. Trackback: Who’s the MOTORCYCLE visitor? « Autism Home Rescue

Leave a Reply

