I have trouble with transitions….

… and a thousand other things.  But it’s all good because I’m human and I deserve to be loved for the individual, quirky person I am.  Which brings me to the topic at hand:

gratitude2-vi

Today I am grateful for:

Acceptance

Plain and simple. 

So simple, the beauty of it made me cry. 

We were away for the weekend.  When it came to Sunday morning, my anxiety was peaking.  I woke up and said to Aubrey:

“I’m feeling nervous and out of sorts.  I don’t know why.”

She put her arm around me, gently kissed my head and replied:

“You always feel that way before a transition.  It’ll be okay.”

I felt the tension I was holding in the back of my neck release ever so slightly and a tear escaped.  It is true.  I have trouble with transitions.  I have anxiety about making changes, doing new things.  That’s just me.  

But the relief I felt from her acknowledgement was like that feeling of soothing a sore throat with a cup of tea, or settling an upset tummy with a peppermint stick.

To be known…

to be accepted…

to be validated for the quirky, challenging, difficult things…

Indeed, to be loved for them as part of the whole person I am!

… well, that is priceless and beyond the words I have. 

It’s everything…

it’s safety…

it’s love…

it’s freedom… 

It is, simply put, just the best.

So Aubrey, thank you for knowing me like you do, and for helping me transition.  You are better than peppermint.  I am grateful.

autism home rescue 1022201201

Leave a Reply

