The Incredible Shrinking Woman….

autism home rescue 1102201201

… and the Alarming Growing Autism Rate.

That’s what this post is about.  Same as always– autism, my son, my mother anxieties.  …

<heavy sigh>

Recently I read an article about chemicals that may possibly play a factor in the development of autism.  You can find the link here.  Yes, we all know that autism is….

“… thought to be caused by a genetic predisposition combined with unknown environmental factors…”

Read the above article.  It is disturbing.  Some of the chemicals I’d heard of, some were completely off my radar.  And all the while I’m scanning this piece of news, I had a little movie playing in my mind.  It was the scene in the film “The Incredible Shrinking Woman” where scientists tell Lily Tomlin’s character:

“You are shrinking from a combination of…”

and then proceed to name a huge list of products like hair spray and household cleaners and soap etc etc, all things produced by her husband’s company.

Great.  More confirmation that no one really knows.  Lots of acknowledgement that holy God! we have a serious autism epidemic on our hands. 

So why is it that many families still have to fight for autism treatments?  Why there are still so many professionals who just have no idea how to help autism families?  Why has no one banned chemicals we *know* for sure are so super-toxic that they’ve damaged an entire generation of children?  I don’t have answers. 

<another heavy sigh>

When I first read the article, I flipped through that big “Things I’ve Done Right/Wrong as a Mom So Far” file in my head and skipped right to the section on “Ingestion (Food, Chemicals, Air, Water)” 

Then as soon as I began to lament the tons of Cheetos I craved while pregnant with Alex, the tuna fish sandwiches from my employer’s cafeteria that I thought were an excellent source of protein, and all the microwaved lunches in plastic containers….

I stopped.

autism home rescue 1102201202Yes, more research needs to be done.  But I’m going to leave that to the scientists.  In the meantime, I’m gonna be the mom and I’m gonna pray for my kids and love them and want them to be with me forever.  Just like Lily Tomlin’s kids in the movie who watched her float away, a tiny wisp who disappeared into a chemical puddle only to return to normal size.  Miraculously.

Then I’m gonna fast forward to the end of that movie in my head and remember how after the Incredible Shrinking Woman returned to normal size, in the next scene her feet grew right out of her slippers– and all the kids in the theater gasped “Oh no!” with big grins on their faces.

Because the fact is that we’ll never know all the answers, it’ll always be a puzzle, and we’re gonna have to keep trying anyway.  So for now I’m going back to just being the mom.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. seventhvoice
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 02:08:23

    I am so there with you….. Autism causes unknown….heavy sigh… blatantly ignoring the use of chemicals we know to be toxic… heavy sigh…. self blame….. heavy sigh…. But still doing my best my to love, adore and cherish my children for all that they are instead of focusing on all that society tells me they should be…. big smile….. Fantastic post. Thank you = )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

