Who’s the MOTORCYCLE visitor?

When I started this blog almost two years ago, I just wanted to have a place to put my thoughts.  Partly to share, partly to vent, partly to advocate and partly just to write!  I never dreamed I’d end up with a following of so many different people from around the globe, those whose lives have been touched by autism, and those who are friends of autism families, artists, writers, engineers, people from every walk of life imaginable.  And I think the fact that you all are reading is pretty super cool!

I’m often curious about who’s out there and I’m always excited when I find a new blogger or reader with whom I connect.  I’m all about the connection– if you haven’t already guessed that! –and if you met me in the local grocery store, you’d know me right away because I’d be the one to strike up a conversation in the cracker aisle or the checkout line or while waiting at the deli.  I can’t help it, I find people fascinating.  I don’t judge, I am awed and amazed by the world around me, and I soak up interaction with it.

Soooo….

The reason for this post today is that over the last few weeks a strange and wonderful thing has happened to my site stats.  They’ve gone up, which is always a good sign.  But the funny part is that one reason they’ve gone up is because there is a reader out there who apparently loves motorcycles.  Motorcycle images, and– I’m guessing– writing about motorcycles (or at least the word “MOTORCYCLE” itself).

A few months back I put up a post about Alex’s communication called “The Word Behind the Words: MOTORCYCLE.”  And thanks to the person or people out there with the passion for motorcycles, it has now become one of my more popular pieces of writing.

I write all this not to single out or embarrass the very dear reader or readers who have clicked on my posts.  But actually to thank you.  What you pay attention to, what you’re passionate about, has somehow led you to my little piece of cyberspace and I am grateful to have you here!

I am curious about who you are because I know that were there a blogger out there who wrote about “lamps” or “marble runs” they would get a thousand hits a day from my son whenever he’s on the computer.  And I’m wondering if you’re drawn in the same way to motorcycle words and images.  Or if you’re researching a paper.  Or if you’re interested in language and piecing together the puzzle of the “word behind the words.”  Or perhaps you like (or dislike) something else about the post, the page, the words & pictures.  Maybe you’ve got feedback for me.

At any rate, whoever you are, dear motorcycle lover, I appreciate your interest and your clicks on Autism Home Rescue.  I wish you the best of luck in your life, your work and your future searches!

Sincerely,

Cathy K

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James
    May 22, 2013 @ 00:59:44

    I’m sitting with my 4 year old daughter after 4hrs of sleep using the iPad. I decided to search “motorcycle pics” for us to look at and talk about (Daddy has 3 in the garage at the moment). I clicked on this link purely for the motorcyle pic. Funny coincidence since my daughter has Autism, hence the limited sleep.

    Reply

  2. James
    May 22, 2013 @ 01:06:53

    As I look closer, I see posts regarding being a parent of a child with Autism and being gay. Another coincidence as my mothers-in-law and father’s-in-law are both gay and very supportive, family oriented people as well as having successful careers (civilian and military with rank of Colonel)…and I swear this is not made up, lol. Very interesting coincidences. I wonder if there is a link with my wife in law school and my studies to be a software engineer? Hehe

    Reply

    • cathykal
      May 22, 2013 @ 12:28:43

      Hi James! Welcome to my little corner of cyberspace.

      Yes, very funny connections– I’m so glad you took the time to share them. No one is in law school in my family at the moment, but my fiancee is a physician– does the lawyer/doctor thing count? 😉

      Hope you eventually got some sleep! Please do keep in touch.

      All best wishes,
      Cathy

      Reply

  3. James
    May 22, 2013 @ 13:37:11

    Well, yes since both of my mom-in-laws also have PhD.’s and are university professors, one for a nursing program. Also, I’m sure you can relate to not seeing enough of your significant other before test times, hehe.

    Reply

Leave a comment